Lighthouse Tours & Exhibition Update
UPDATE 03/02/22:We plan to open the Lighthouse Tours and the newly refurbished Exhibition on Saturday 26th March 2022.Keep an eye on our website and follow us on social media to check for further updates.We look forward to welcoming our visitors back to the Mull of Galloway.
The Mull of Galloway Experience
At the Mull of Galloway you can climb the Lighthouse, visit the Exhibition of Lighthouse History, experience the Vintage Engines and Foghorn, walk around the RSPB Scotland Nature Reserve and enjoy delicious food and drink at Scotland’s most Southerly Coffee House.
The Mull of Galloway Lighthouse
Climb 115 steps to the top of the Mull of Galloway Lighthouse and, on a clear day, be rewarded with spectacular views of Scotland, Ireland, Isle of Man and Cumbria, watch the gannets diving and look out for porpoises and dolphins.
The tower stands 26 metres high and the light is 99 metres above sea level. The Lighthouse was built by Robert Stevenson. It took two years to build; work commenced in 1828 and the Lighthouse was first lit on 26th March 1830. Find out more.
A Foghorn has been present at the Mull of Galloway since 1894. It last sounded as an aid to marine navigation in November 1987. During its working life, the Foghorn would be operated by Lighthouse Keepers should seaward visibility drop below 4 miles.
Three Kelvin K2 Diesel Engines produce the compressed air necessary to sound the Foghorn. The engines are now running again after 30 years of remaining silent.
The Foghorn was in use until November 1987 and this has now returned to working order (April 2018). The Mull of Galloway Foghorn is currently the only operational Foghorn on mainland Scotland. You can find out more about the refurbishment, hear a blast and see more photographs by visiting our gallery.
The Exhibition and Engine Room
The Mull of Galloway Lighthouse Exhibition is housed in the former fuel store, workshop and engine room to the right of the Lighthouse.
In pride of place is the Fresnel Lens from McArthur’s Head Lighthouse, which was upgraded to an automatic light in 1969. The lens has been loaned to the Exhibition by the Museum of Scottish Lighthouses in Fraserburgh. Find out more.
Gallie Craig Coffee House
Gallie Craig Coffee House was named after the ragged rock of the same name protruding from the sea south of the Mull of Galloway. The glass encased coffee house and its terrace look towards the rock and the spectacular panoramic view also takes in the Lighthouse, the Isle of Man, Ireland, the South Rhins Peninsula and Luce Bay. Find out more.
Group bookings are welcome, please contact us for details.